Skip to main content

Applied Bio and Food Sciences

Studentin pipetiert im Labor. Sie trägt Laborkittel, Handschuhe und Schutzbrille.
ABFS
Programme title Applied Bio and Food Sciences
Faculty
2
Starts in
summer semester
Duration
3 semesters
Degree Master of Science
Restricted admission
yes, minimum grade or similar
Language requirements: German at level C1, English at level B2

You‘re a student with us or want to know more?

Bio and food technology is as broad a research field as it offers career paths outside of research. You know this from your studies at undergraduate level already. In this bilingual master’s degree programme we will help you to make the most of your opportunities in this field. Theory and practice always go together in this programme.

What is it about?

Bio and food technology have an influence on every part of our daily lives basically. And it is the combination of these two that creates a major potential in research and knowledge transfer. Biotechnology is considered to be one of the key sciences of the 21st century. Bio-based raw materials, environmental technology, medicine – progress in all of these fields has been fuelled by biotechnology. And food technology is up there in the same league. The crucial topics of our time include production processes that are sustainable and use resources efficiently, food quality and safety and new materials.

What will I learn? – Course content and structure

The degree programme is designed to take three semesters altogether in which you will acquire and expand subject-specific and more general knowledge and skills. After completing your studies – and you can do this alongside your job, too – you will be admitted as a Master of Science (M.Sc.).

In the first semester of your studies you will expand your knowledge on bio and food technology. The focus is a slightly different one in each module: In “Advanced Bioprocess Engineering” and “Industrial Food Production” you will update your technological knowledge and skills. In “Production Organisms” our approach is a more analytical one while in “Product Innovations” you will acquire creativity techniques and project management skills.  The elective courses will give you the chance to immerse in topics that you find particularly interesting.

In this semester all modules will be taught in German. We will, however, use English-language literature, discussions in English and other materials to strengthen your English skills. This way you will be ready for the second semester of the programme. In this project semester you will work on a project in a team. The topics the projects deal with usually are derived from current research and development projects and technology transfer at FUAS. First, you will draft a project application in the “Research Proposal” module. This enables you to gain a sound theoretical foundation on how to write successful applications for grants.  You’ll keep up with the progress of your project in “Project Theory.” And you’ll present the results at the Scientific Conference that is organised by second semester students.

The third semester of the programme is designated to your master’s thesis. You can write your thesis with a company – in Germany or abroad – or at one of our many partner universities. (If you want to spend more time abroad during your studies, you can use the second semester of the programme to do so, too.) Your thesis is completed by a one-hour colloquium. Once you have successfully passed both, you will be admitted to the degree of Master of Science (M.Sc.).

Curriculum

What can I do with it? – Career prospects

Your degree qualifies you for careers in a number of industry sectors: The food and the pharmaceutical industry for example. The cosmetics and the life sciences sector will also have numerous jobs that match your profile.

Depending on your strengths and interests, you can pursue a career in product development, in quality assurance or management, in production and optimisation or in research. You will also be a well-suited candidate for management positions.

The job market prospects for the areas this degree programme qualifies you for are promising: Several studies show a significant increase in positions advertised by companies active in the field of biotechnology. The number of people with a university degree working in food technology is on a constant rise.

Your master’s degree also is a great starting point if you want to pursue a doctorate.

How do I apply?

If what you have read so far matches your strengths, interests and your idea of what you would like to study and do – in short, if this sounds like the perfect degree programme for you, you should apply.

Applying for a master’s degree programme is not much different from what you did when you applied for your bachelor’s degree programme. Depending on whether you have acquired your university entrance qualification in Germany or abroad, the application process varies. If you went to school outside Germany, please apply via uni-assist. If your university entrance qualification was issued by a German school, please apply via our Online Service Tool.

Course Guidance

Direkt zum Inhalt

Applied Bio and Food Sciences

Studentin pipetiert im Labor. Sie trägt Laborkittel, Handschuhe und Schutzbrille.

ABFS

Studiengang Applied Bio and Food Sciences

Fachbereich 2

Start Sommersemester

Dauer 3 Semester

Abschluss Master of Science

NC zulassungsbeschränkt

Sie studieren oder möchten mehr erfahren?

Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnologie sind breite Berufs- und Forschungsfelder. Das wissen Sie schon aus Ihrem Bachelorstudium. In diesem zweisprachigen Masterstudiengang helfen wir Ihnen dabei, das Meiste aus Ihren Möglichkeiten zu machen. Theorie und Praxis gehen dabei immer Hand in Hand.

Worum geht’s

Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnologie beeinflusst im Grunde alle Bereiche unseres Lebens. Gerade ihre Kombination birgt großes Potential in der Forschung und im Wissenstransfer. Die Biotechnologie gilt als eine der Schlüsselwissenschaften des 21. Jahrhunderts. Biobasierte Rohstoffe, Umwelttechnik, Medizin – für Fortschritte in allen diesen Gebieten ist die Biotechnologie verantwortlich. Auch die Lebensmitteltechnologie spielt in dieser Liga: Nachhaltige und ressourcenschonende Produktionsprozesse, Lebensmittelqualität und -sicherheit sowie neue Rohstoffe gehören zu den großen Fragen unserer Zeit.

Studieninhalt und -ablauf

Insgesamt besteht der Studiengang aus drei Semestern, in denen Sie sowohl fachliche als auch überfachliche Fähigkeiten erwerben und vertiefen. Am Ende Ihres Studiums – das Sie auch berufsbegleitend absolvieren können – erwerben Sie den akademischen Grad Master of Science (M.Sc.).

Im ersten Semester Ihres Masterstudiums vertiefen Sie lebens- und biotechnologische Kenntnisse. Die Schwerpunkte sind dabei in den jeweiligen Modulen unterschiedlich gelagert: Ihre technologischen Kenntnisse bringen Sie zum Beispiel in „Advanced Bioprocess Engineering“ und „Industrial Food Production“ auf den neuesten Stand. „Production Organisms“ ist eher analytisch geprägt, während in „Product Innovations“ zusätzlich Elemente wie Kreativ- und Projektmanagementtechniken vermittelt werden.  In dem Fach „Elective Course“ können Sie sich je nach Interessenlage fachspezifisch vertiefen.

Alle Module in diesem Semester finden zunächst in deutscher Sprache statt, über englisch-sprachige Literatur, englische Sprechanteile und andere Materialien stärken Sie aber auch Ihre englische Sprachkompetenz. So sind Sie dann ideal für das zweite Semester vorbereitet. In diesem Projektsemester widmen Sie sich einem Projekt, welches Sie im Team bearbeiten. Die Themen ergeben sich aus aktuellen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten und dem Technologietransfer der Hochschule. Zunächst erarbeiten Sie im Modul „Research Proposal“ einen Projektantrag – so erwerben Sie theoretische Grundlagen zur Beantragung von Fördermitteln.  Den Projektfortschritt halten Sie im Modul „Project Theory“ nach. Die Ergebnisse präsentieren Sie dann in der Scientific Conference, die von den Studierenden dieses Semesters organisiert wird.

Im dritten Semester verfassen Sie dann ihre Master-Thesis. Das können Sie in einem Unternehmen im In- oder Ausland tun oder an einer unserer zahlreichen Partnerhochschulen. (Wenn Sie vorher schon Ihr Studium mit einem Auslandsaufenthalt verbinden möchten, können Sie das auch im zweiten Semester schon tun.) Zur Thesis gehört auch ein einstündiges Kolloquium, haben Sie das erfolgreich absolviert, dürfen Sie den Grad Master of Science führen.

Modulplan

Berufsperspektiven

Mit Ihrem Abschluss sind Sie für eine ganze Reihe von Branchen hervorragend qualifiziert: den Lebensmittel- und  Pharmasektor zum Beispiel. Auch in den Bereichen Kosmetik und Life Sciences gibt es zahlreiche Arbeitsplätze für Ihr Profil.

Je nach Ihren Interessen und Stärken arbeiten Sie in der Produktentwicklung, im Qualitätswesen, in der Produktion und Optimierung oder in der Forschung. Auch für Aufgaben im Management sind Sie bestens ausgebildet.

Die Arbeitsmarktprognosen für die Bereiche, für die dieser Studiengang Sie ausbildet, sind vielversprechend: Diverse Studien verzeichnen für die letzten Jahre einen deutlichen Zuwachs an Arbeitsplätzen in Unternehmen, die sich mit der Biotechnologie beschäftigen, und auch in der Lebensmittelindustrie nimmt die Anzahl der Beschäftigten, die ein Studium absolviert haben, zu.

Mit Ihrem Masterabschluss sind Sie auch für eine Promotion bestens gerüstet.

Bewerbungsmodalitäten

Wenn das, was Sie bis hier gelesen haben, Ihren Vorstellungen, Interessen und Stärken entspricht, wenn es also nach genau dem richtigen Studium für Sie klingt, dann brauchen Sie sich jetzt nur noch zu bewerben.

Im Grunde unterscheidet sich das Bewerbungsverfahren für einen Masterstudiengang nur minimal von dem für ein Bachelorstudium – Sie bewerben sich einfach online und schicken uns dann alle nötigen Unterlagen. Welche das genau sind, haben wir hier für Sie aufgelistet.

Vorgesehene Kapazitäten

In diesem Studiengang gibt es je Sommersemester 25 Studienplätze, im Wintersemester sind keine Plätze zu vergeben.

Studienberatung