Skip to main content

Business Management

Overview

  • Programme title

    Business Management
  • Faculty

    4
  • Starts in

    winter semester
  • Duration

    4 semesters
  • Degree

    Master of Arts
  • Language of instruction

    Deutsch & Englisch
  • Restricted admission

    yes, minimum grade or similar
  • Accreditation

    by AQAS

5 good reasons

  • Choose between four highly relevant majors

  • Study in cooperation with EUF and our technical faculties

  • Study in small groups with individual support from our teaching staff

  • Study close to industry (in projects, field trips and networks)

  • Get a double degree in Australia (in the F&A major)

It's a match if

  • Knowledge and skills from your bachelor’s degree (depending on your major)

  • You like working with numbers

  • Thinking things through gives you a kick

  • You want to take on responsibility

  • You’re not scared of English

What it’s about

The best business idea is doomed to fail without a good management behind it. Every business needs managers to control processes, be in charge of staff and finances and master the challenges of the digital transformation. If you think globalisation, the increasing complexity of processes and change in general are exciting topics rather than scary, you have found the right master’s degree.

Course structure & majors

You’ll determine the big topic of your studies right at the start, by choosing  one of four majors:

  • Finance & Accounting
  • SME Management & Entrepreneurship
  • Sustainable and Digital Supply Chain Management
  • Business Informatics

We have a specific expertise and networks that you’ll benefit from during your studies in all these fields.

Your major modules will form the main focus of your studies during the first three semesters. In addition your timetable will include basic modules, on topics such as research methods and corporate responsibility for example, and minor modules in which you can extend your knowledge, both subject-specific and more general. Which minor modules are offered varies from year to year, some of them are offered in cooperation with Europa-Universität Flensburg and our technical faculties here at FUAS.

In your third semester, you have five months to write your master’s thesis, whether you want to write it on a more theoretical topic or together with a company is up to you.

Majors

Finance & Accounting

Finance, financial products and their evaluation, international financial reporting, management control, economics – all of these are not only becoming increasingly more important, they are interconnected, too. This major focusses on these connections. You will combine tradition with new developments, go to the bottom of things and look at them from the perspective of banks and that of businesses. Because you have to be able to truily understand financial products to create them.

SME Management & Entrepreneurship

Flensburg is one of the top 5 German cities when it comes to economic growth. We were awarded this position in the Prognos Zukunftsatlas because of our lively start-up community and the small and medium sized businesses characteristic for the economy in our region. And FUAS’ Jackstädt-Zentrum Flensburg (JZF) has been supporting these businesses for years. In your studies, you will be able to benefit from this unique combination, the expertise and the network that go with it.

Sustainable and Digital Supply Chain Management

The supply chain, the globalised value creation and supply chains that are one of the most crucial parts of the world’s economy are at the core of this major. We add topics such as sustainability and digital transformation and we will equip you with the tools that you need to set up supply chains, interconnect planning processes and never lose sight of ecological and social standards.

Business Informatics

For is the I in Business Informatics is definitely a capital letter. We don’t want you to just be part of the conversation about crucial topics such as big data and digital transformation, we want you to shape these topics. You will learn to identify business opportunities, evaluate and realise them and you will find solutions to actual problems using technical methods and innovative software.

Future prospects

You want to continue your studies?

When we ask our former students where they work now, one answer is always universities and research institutes. So this degree can be your door opener to a doctorate.

You want to work?

Almost 90% of our former students had signed a job contract within six months after graduating. You Business Informatics degree qualifies you to work in different fields, e.g.:

  • trade
  • Mechanical engineering and the automotive industry
  • Legal, business and HR consulting
  • IT services
  • banking and auditing sector

About half of our alumni work on medium or senior management level.

How do I apply?

Admission to the master’s degree programme is regulated by the official Study and Examination Regulations. You can find the most important requirements for admission below. If you are in doubt on your eligibility for the programme, please contact the programme advisor or the course guidance team.

You can apply for our master’s degree programme in Business Management:

  • If you have graduated with a bachelor’s degree or a German Diplom from a study programme related to business with a final grade of at least “GUT” [good], and
  • If you can provide evidence of your German language skills being sufficient

If you meet certain requirements, you may be able to apply for the programme even if you have graduated from a programme not related to business. Please contact us for further details.

Course Guidance

Direkt zum Inhalt
Eine Gruppe von Menschen sitzt um einen Arbeitstisch, hinter ihnen an der Wand hängt ein Whiteboard voller bunter Post Its, vor ihnen auf dem Tisch Laptops, Bücher und Stifte.

Interesse am Studium?

Business Management

Übersicht

  • Studiengang

    Business Management
  • Fachbereich

    4
  • Start

    Wintersemester
  • Dauer

    4 Semester
  • Abschluss

    Master of Arts
  • Unterrichtssprache

    Deutsch & Englisch
  • NC

    Mit NC
  • Akkreditierung

    durch die AQAS

5 Gründe

  • Wähle aus 4 relevanten Majors

  • Lerne in Kooperationen mit der EUF und technischen Fachbereichen

  • Arbeite in kleinen Gruppen mit individueller Betreuung

  • Studiere mit Praxisbezug (in Projekten, Exkursionen & Netzwerken)

  • Mach im F&A Major einen Double Degree in Australien

Das bringst Du mit

  • Vorwissen aus dem Bachelor (je nach Major)

  • Du arbeitest gern mit Zahlen

  • Du hast Spaß am analytischen Denken

  • Du willst Verantwortung übernehmen

  • Keine Angst vor Englisch

Darum geht’s

Ohne ein gutes Management wird aus der besten Geschäftsidee nichts. Jedes Unternehmen braucht Führungskräfte, die Prozesse steuern, die Beschäftigten und die Finanzen im Blick haben und sich den Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung stellen. Wenn Globalisierung, immer komplexer werdende Prozesse und Wandel generell dich reizen und nicht abschrecken, bis du in diesem Master richtig.

Studienablauf & Schwerpunkte

Zu Anfang deines Studiums wählst du einen von vier Majors und damit auch das große Thema deines Studiums:

  • Finance & Accounting
  • SME-Management & Entrepreneurship
  • Sustainable and Digital Supply Chain Management
  • Wirtschaftsinformatik

In jedem dieser Bereiche haben wir eine besondere Expertise und Netzwerke, von denen du im Laufe deines Studiums profitierst.

Die Major-Module bestimmen in den ersten drei Semestern maßgeblich deinen Stundenplan. Dazu kommen Grundlagenmodule, beispielsweise zu Forschungsmethoden und Corporate Responsibility, und Minor-Module, in denen du fach- und themenübergreifend dein Wissen ausbaust. Die Minor-Module variieren jedes Semester und finden zum Teil in Zusammenarbeit mit der Europa-Universität und unseren technischen Fachbereichen statt.

Im vierten Semester hast du fünf Monate Zeit für deine Master-Thesis, die du zu einem theoretischen Thema oder als Praxisarbeit in einem Unternehmen schreiben kannst.

Majors

Finance & Accounting

Finanzierung, Finanzprodukte und ihre Bewertung, internationale Rechnungslegung, Controlling, VWL – all diese Dinge werden nicht nur immer wichtiger, sie hängen auch zusammen. Genau diese Verknüpfung nimmt dieser Major vor. Hier verbindest du Traditionelles mit Neuem, gehst den Dingen auf den Grund und betrachtest sie sowohl aus Sicht der Banken als auch aus der von Unternehmen, denn nur, wenn du Finanzprodukte verstehst, kannst du sie auch selber konzipieren.

SME-Management & Entrepreneurship

Flensburg zählt zu den Top 5 der Aufsteigerstädte in Sachen Wirtschaftswachstum. Diesen Spitzenplatz im Prognos Zukunftsatlas verdanken wir unserer regen Gründungsszene und den kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen, die die Wirtschaft unserer Region prägen. Unser Jackstädt-Zentrum Flensburg (JZF) unterstützt diese Unternehmen seit Jahren. Von dieser einmaligen Verbindung, der Expertise und dem Netzwerk dahinter, profitierst du in deinem Studium.

Sustainable and Digital Supply Chain Management

Der Kern dieses Majors ist die Supply Chain, die globalisierten Wertschöpfungs- und Lieferketten, die eines der wichtigsten Themen der Wirtschaft bilden. Um diesen Kern herum legen wir Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit und Digitalisierung und geben dir die Tools mit, die du brauchst, um Supply Chains zu gestalten, Planungsabläufe zu vernetzen und dabei Öko- und Sozialstandards im Blick zu behalten.

Wirtschaftsinformatik

In diesem Major schreiben wir Wirtschaftsinformatik mit einem großen I. Hier redest du nicht nur mit, wenn es um entscheidende Themen wie Big Data und digitale Transformation geht – du gestaltest mit! Du lernst Business Opportunities zu erkennen, zu bewerten und zu realisieren und findest mit innovativer Software und technischen Methoden Lösungen für reale Probleme.

Zukunftsperspektiven

Du willst weiter studieren?

Unsere ehemaligen Studierenden geben in Befragungen immer wieder an, Jobs an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen zu besetzen. Dir stehen also mit diesem Abschluss alle Türen für eine Promotion offen.

Du willst direkt in den Beruf?

Für fast 90 % unserer ehemaligen Studierenden hat es keine sechs Monate gedauert, bis sie nach dem Studium einen Arbeitsvertrag unterschrieben haben. Der Master Business Management öffnet dir Türen in verschiedene Bereiche, z.B.:

  • Handel
  • Maschinen- und Fahrzeugbau
  • Rechts-, Wirtschafts- und Personalberatung
  • IT-Dienstleistungsbranche
  • Banken & Wirtschaftsprüfung

Fast die Hälfte unserer ehemaligen Studierenden arbeiten auf mittlerer oder oberer Leitungsebene.

Bewerbungsmodalitäten

Wenn das, was du bis hierher gelesen hast, nach genau dem richtigen Studium für dich klingt, dann brauchst du dich jetzt nur noch zu bewerben. Das geht ganz einfach – schnell und unkompliziert per Online-Bewerbung.

Alles erfahren und überzeugt?

Studienberatung